National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP)

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is the country’s oldest fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields. Since 1952, NSF has funded over 50,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of more than 500,000 applicants. Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees (paid to the institution), opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.

All applications are due at 5:00 p.m. local time, as determined by the applicant’s mailing address.

October 24, 2019 (Thursday)
Social Sciences

November 1, 2019 (Friday)
Reference letter deadline
Reference letters must be submitted by 5:00 pm (ET) on November 1, 2019 (Friday) 

Applicants must be United States citizens, nationals, or permanent residents of the United States by the application deadline. The term "national" designates a native resident of a commonwealth or territory of the United States, such as American Samoa. It does not refer to a citizen of another country who has applied for United States citizenship and who has not received U.S. citizenship by the application deadline.

Important Dates

→ Late July/Early August - Program Solicitation Released

→ Early August - Application Opened

→ Late October/Early November - Application Deadlines (determined by discipline)

→ Early April - Awards Announced

→ Early May - Fellows Acceptance Deadline

2018 Lilly Yu
2017 Brianna Castro
2016 Angela Wang Lee
2015 Jimmy Biblarz
Adam Travis
2014 Kelley Ty Fong
Blythe George
Siobhan Greatorex-Voith
2012 Asad L. Asad
Matthew Clair
Daniel Wu
2011 Kreg Steven Brown
Mazen Elfakhani
Queenie Zhu
2010 Caitlin Daniel
Carl Gershenson
Jackelyn Hwang
Anthony A. Jack
Carly Knight
2008 Jacqueline O. Cooke-Rivers
Christopher Muller
Rupert H. Russell
2007 Jovonne J. Bickerstaff
Anmol Chaddha
2004 Laura Tach