Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Graduate Student Fellowship

PhD candidates at all Harvard faculties who plan to finish writing their dissertation in 2020–2021 are invited to apply.

View a list of current and past graduate student fellows and learn more about their work.

For 2020–2021, Radcliffe graduate student fellowships provide

  • a stipend of $32,000, with the possibility of an additional $750 for travel related to conferences and job interviews;
  • tuition and health fees; and
  • a work space with a desktop computer at the Radcliffe Institute's Byerly Hall.

As a graduate student fellow, you are expected to reside in Cambridge during your fellowship year. You will participate in the Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program by attending all weekly fellows' talks and lunches. You are also invited, though not required, to present your own work in a talk to the fellows.

How to Apply

You may apply to become a graduate student fellow via CARAT. A complete application with all necessary documents must be uploaded to CARAT by Friday, February 7, 2020.

Applicants for Radcliffe Institute Dissertation Completion Fellowships must include a brief statement describing how an affiliation with the Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program would benefit them; a two-page resume; a dissertation abstract and a table of contents; two letters of recommendation, one of which must be written by the dissertation advisor; and two faculty evaluation forms. 

Apply via CARAT.

While a candidate's scholarly qualifications, the merits of the dissertation topic, and faculty references are important in the selection process, consideration is also given to graduate fellows with research interests matching those of one or more of the year's Radcliffe Institute fellows. This increases opportunities for intellectual interaction and mentorship within the community. 

Current and Former Radcliffe Graduate Student Fellows:
2019-20: Linda Zhao
2018-19: Charlotte Lloyd
2017-18: Hope Harvey
2016-17: Asad Asad
2013-14: Deirdre Bloome
2008-09: Sarah Halpern-Meekin